Few names are as synonymous with McPherson High School basketball as Mike Henson, so it was only a matter of time before the former head coach was added to the MHS Wall of Fame.

Few names are as synonymous with McPherson High School basketball as Mike Henson, so it was only a matter of time before the former head coach was added to the MHS Wall of Fame. Henson will join seven others on Dec. 7 during the Washburn Rural games when he is honored for his achievements while guiding McPherson to four Class 5A State Championships, including three straight between 1990-1992. Those seasons also saw one of the longest winning streaks in MHS history, as Henson guided the Bullpups to 29 straight wins, including 21 consecutive victories between 1990-1991. Henson took over the program in 1983 from the legendary Jay Frazier, who coached MHS for 26 years, though Henson initially started as the freshman boys’ basketball coach under Fraizer. “I didn’t know what I was getting into when I came to McPherson as the freshman coach,” Henson said. “The way the community and the school loved basketball and getting the chance to work with Jay. He had as much to do with building the Roundhouse as anyone.” Henson would go onto to win Sub-state in Class 5A 10 times in his MHS career and garnered a 250-34 record. After he left McPherson, Henson went northeast to take over the Topeka High School program. In 33 years of coaching basketball, Henson has an overall record of 545-194. Henson plans to attend the ceremony on Dec. 7. “It’s an honor when I see the names of all the others that are up there,” Henson said. Henson will be joined in his induction by former MHS golf coach Cliff Hawkes, who led the Bullpups in 1989 and then again from 1991-1994. He also stayed on as an assistant coach from 1995-1998. “It’s pretty neat,” Hawkes said. “It kind of tells you that you did something good.” Hawkes guided the Bullpups to a Class 5A State Championship in 1991, in addition to a pair of regional championships in 1991 and 1992. Hawkes is now an assistant coach at Central Christian College, where he continues to teach kids how to play golf. Hawkes still looks back at his time as MHS coach fondly. “I had a really great bunch of kids,” he said. “It’s amazing how smart the golf kids are.” Also to be inducted to the Wall of Fame are former MHS tennis stars Casyn Buchman and Kirsten Holle. Together, Buchman and Holle were the 2009 Class 5A Doubles State and Regional Champions, while in 2010 they were the Class 5A Regional Champions and runners up in the state competition. Individually, Buchman won regionals in doubles in 2007 with partner Amanda Gayer. Buchman was AVCTL singles champion in 2008 and 2009. She holds the most wins in MHS history for tennis at 135 and is the only McPherson player with three league titles and four regional titles. A basketball star as well, Buchman was a member of the 2008 Class 5A state champion team and was honored several times by area media and the AVCTL with first- and second-team nominations. She was also a McDonald’s All-America Basketball nominee in 2010-2011. Holle is just behind Buchman in the total number of tennis wins with 134 and is the only two-time girls state tennis champion, winning with Buchman in 2009 and then with Moira Pyle in the Class 4A tournament in 2011. Holle claimed the AVCTL singles championship in 2008 and 2009 and the doubles championship in 2010 with Pyle. Tyler Matthews, Taylor Krier, Aden Lindholm and Andrew Shaugnessy round out the rest of the 2012 inductees. Krier was the Class 4A State Wrestling Champion in the 195 pound category in 2011-12, having placed fourth the year before in Class 5A as a heavyweight. He was named to the AVCTL All-League first-team in the heavyweight category in 2011 and the second-team as a 195 pounder in 2012. He was also honored by the AVCTL in 2010 and 2011 for his play on the football field, making the All-League second-team in 2010 and 2011 as an offensive lineman and the 2011 first-team as a defensive end. Tyler Matthews had a prolific football career with MHS, as he is the record holder in a number of categories. He holds the record for number of passing yards in a game with 441 against Emporia in 2011, the same season he also broke the record total passing yards with 2,847. For his career, Matthews had 5,505 yards between 2010-2011. He was named All-State/All-Class by the Wichita Eagle and Topeka Capitol Journal following the 2011 season and was a U.S. Army All-American Football selection, among many other accolades. Lindholm will be recognized for his 2012 Class 4A State Forensics championship for serious solo acting. Shaughnessy and Lindholm will both be recognized for their work outside the sports realm. Shaughnessy won the Class 5A State Forensics championship in 2009 in the impromptu category and another in 2012 in Class 4 for the Lincoln Douglas debate. He is an eight-time forensics state finalist, a five-time National Forensics League national qualifier and a two-time NCFL national qualifier. Additionally, Shaughnessy was ranked 15th in the nation in 2012 by the NFL and was an All-American. He is the all-time NFL point record holder at MHS. Lindholm will be added to the wall after finishing as the Class 4A State Forensics champion in 2012 for serious solo acting. The high school will also recognize the 2012 Class 4A state champion girls’ basketball team and the 2012 state champion volleyball team during the ceremony on Dec. 7 and will hang their respective banners that night.