The Smoky Valley Community Foundation board of directors is pleased to announce that six local organizations have been selected to receive funding for projects or programs that will benefit the entire community. A record number of qualified applications were received by the board, making the selection process difficult. In the end, more than $6,000 in grants was awarded to the following: — Lindsborg Community Library: $1,300 for technology enhancements, specifically for licensing and training for an eBook program. — McPherson County Food Bank: $1,000 to assist with the organization’s fundraising efforts for the expansion of the current building, which will enable the Food Bank to store more items and serve more individuals. — Broadway RFD: $1,100 for operating expenses for the children’s summer theater camp. — Elmwood Cemetery: $750 for general maintenance and cleanup, particularly the removal of dead or diseased trees. — Lindsborg Community Garden: $900 to assist with start up costs for a Community Garden sponsored by Trinity United Methodist Church. — Messiah Festival of the Arts: $1,100 for to help fund the Messiah Festival Education Outreach. About the foundation The Smoky Valley Community Foundation is a nonprofit organization affiliated with the Greater Salina Community Foundation. Requests for grants were considered from several applicants in the Smoky Valley, which is defined as northern McPherson county and southern Saline County. The Smoky Valley Community Enhancement Fund is an unrestricted community grant fund created by the generosity of individuals who have contributed money to the foundation for charitable use. Tax-deductible contributions of any size are accepted from donors. From these endowed funds, the foundation board annually designates the amount of available funding for community grants. Only charitable projects are chosen to fulfill the Smoky Valley Community Foundation’s mission to improve the quality of life in these communities. If you or your group would like information regarding applications for future grants, or if you are interested in donating to the Smoky Valley Community Foundation, please visit You may also contact a board member to request information. Members of the Smoky Valley Community Foundation board of directors are: Rebecca VanDerWege, chair; Aaron Esping, vice-chair; Tricia Clark, secretary; John Palmquist, treasurer; Amie Bauer, Kirsten Bruce, Jim Copple, Bill Lindholm, Holly Myers, Dana Olson, Shane Reift, Shirley Reissig, and Andrea Swisher.