The McPherson High School boys’ swim team may be off for the holidays, but one member isn’t lying low during the break.

The McPherson High School boys’ swim team may be off for the holidays, but one member isn’t lying low during the break.

Senior swimmer Derick Goodson competed in the 21st Annual Elite Pro-Am Swim in Chesapeake, Okla., this past weekend, competing with the Wichita Aqua Shocks in the three day event that brings together professional swimmers with amateurs who haven’t used up their NCAA eligibility.

Goodson competed in several individual and relay events, making a good showing of himself, finishing in a three-way tie for 65th.

He qualified for the finals of the 50-yard freestyle with a time of 22.16 seconds. In the 100-yard freestyle, he finished at the top of the C race with a time of 48.24, though it was quite quick enough to win the event.

Goodson also finished with a time of 25.98 in the 50-yard backstroke finals, 26.19 in the 100-yard backstroke and 54.98 in the 100 yard butterfly prelims.

In relays, Goodson competed with two separate teams.

The first group was with Kesier Witte, Preston Barley and Jonathon Lavalle in the 200-, 400- and 800-yard freestyle relays. They finished with a time of 1:29:34 in the 200-yard event and 7:17:27 in the 800-yard freestyle.

The team was disqualified from the 400-yard freestyle relay.

The second team Goodson swam with included Lavalle, Witte and Bryce Hill in the 200- and 400-yard medleys. They finished the 200-yard race at 1:40:31 and the 400-yard event with a time of 3:35:84.

Overall, the Aqua Shocks finished 19th with 126 points, good enough for a 10th place finish in the men’s standings, as the team had no women compete.

The Mission Viejo Nadadores out of California won the overall competition with 1,556.50 points, followed by the Fort Worth Area Swim Team, the Schroeder YMCA Swim Team, the Dallas Mustangs and the Minnetonka Swim Club.

The Nadadores actually swept the meet, as they placed first in the women’s scoring with 783 points, first in the men’s with 773.50 and boasted the top two swimmers in either category.

Janardana Burns finished first in the men’s competition, while Kathryn McLaughlin took first in the women’s.

The top five finishers for the women were largely the same as the overall, with the only difference being the Wild West Aquatic Club finishing fifth.

The men’s placing had Schroeder, Fort Worth, the host Chesapeake Swim Club and the Kansas City Blazers rounding out the top five. The Wichita Swim Club finished sixth in the men’s rankings.

The meet is sponsored by Chesapeake Energy and is a sanctioned USA Swimming event open to athletes who qualify.