McPherson College recognized the outstanding students of the 2012-2013 academic year at its annual Celebration and Awards Convocation on Friday.

McPherson College recognized the outstanding students of the 2012-2013 academic year at its annual Celebration and Awards Convocation on Friday.

Following a highlight video looking back at the last year, faculty and staff presented the awards and recognitions.

Recipients were as follows:

Technology Department-Auto Restoration Program

Jay Leno/Popular Mechanics Scholarship — Mike Rhodes, sophomore, McPhersonPaul Russell Award for Excellence -—Taylor Adams, senior, Ashland, Va.Business

Outstanding Business Student Award — Claire Krizek, senior, McPhersonCurriculum and instruction

Model Educator Award — Ben Coffey, Fall ’12 Alumnus, McPhersonTeachers of Promise — Aspen Frey, junior, Newton; and Kelsey Stucky, junior, CimarronHistory and politics

History and Politics Best Senior Thesis Award — Casey Maxon, senior, LawrenceNatural science

CRC Press Freshman Chemistry Achievement Award — Ashley Frankenbery, freshman, Benton; and Whitney Zimmerman, freshman, Valley CenterBurkholder Research Award — Emily James, senior, Westminster, Colo.; Taylor Roop, Moscow, Kan.; Amanda Baxter, junior, Pueblo West, Colo.Merit Research Award — Kasey Miller, senior, DerbyJournalism

Kansas Collegiate Media (KCM) Awards

Miranda Clark, freshman, Russell: third place in sports photography, honorable mention in feature photography, honorable mention in photo essayCord Cunningham, junior, Ottawa: first place in single ad designAllison Hartley ’12, Emporia: first place in feature photographyBecca Hornung-Heeke, sophomore, Spearville: honorable mention in interior oage designFred Miller, senior, McPherson: honorable mention in feature photographyKyle Smith, senior, Milford: honorable mention in news photographyAll Spectator staff: overall bronze medalVisual arts

Excellence in Competitive Exhibitions:

Cord Cunningham, junior, Ottawa; Heath Helmer, senior, Shawnee; Evan Hiebert, junior, Goessel; Danna Jacks, sophomore, Stafford; Aurore Joigny, Deuil-la-Barre, France; Casey Maxon, senior, Lawrence; E.H. Petropulos, junior, Larkspur, Colo.; Jacy Porter, junior, Little River; Emilee Reinert, senior, Tipton; Sarah Schowengerdt, junior, McPherson; Shela Spencer, senior, McPherson; Kala Tiemann, sophomore, Lewis; Derrick Toney, senior, Salinas, Calif.Athletics

Capital One Academic All-American Awards

Jake Snodgrass, senior, Derby,: First team; Academic All-American of the YearHeath Hewitt, junior, Sterling: Second teamByron O’Rourke, senior, Holcomb: Second teamKasey Miller, senior, Derby: Second teamFemale Athlete of the Year — Aspen Frey, junior, NewtonMale Athlete of the Year — Derrick Toney, senior, Salinas, Calif.Physical education

Outstanding Physical Education Major — Molly Whitwell, senior, Plano, TexasWho’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges

Taylor Adams, senior, Ashland, Va.; Vyacheslav Bukatin, senior, Perm, Russia; Jacee Coberly, senior, Gove, Kan.; Torey Fry, senior, Wichita; Emily James, senior, Westminster, Colo.; Aurore Joigny, Deuil-la-Barre, France; Claire Krizek, senior, McPherson; Casey Maxon, senior, Lawrence; Kasey Miller, senior, Derby; Erik Steffens, senior, DightonProfessor of the Year Award — Laura Workman Eells, associate professor of sociology.

Service awards

Laurina Hannan, sophomore, Wamego, (176 hours), Michael Himlie, freshman, Harmony, Minn. (216 hours), Rebecca Hornung-Heeke, sophomore, Spearville, (147 hours), Danna Jacks, sophomore, Stafford (108 hours), Isabelle Moyer, freshman, McPherson (200 hours), Elizabeth Newby, freshman, McPherson (135 hours), Colby Patton, sophomore, Maize (140 hours)

Senior Award for Distinction in Campus Ministry — Sarah Neher, senior, Rochester, Minn.; and Allison Snyder, senior, Adel, Iowa

National Society of Leadership and Success

National Excellence in Leadership Award — Jacee Cobery, senior, Gove; Ivy Newton, senior, Hutchinson; Taylor Wilkens, senior, ClearwaterOutstanding NSLS Member Award — Katie Naccarato, senior, Valley CenterStaff Person of the Year Award — Carole Barr, director of the Royer Center for Academic Development

MyMC Contest Winner — Derrick Toney, senior, Salinas, Calif.