The 35th Annual Community Christmas Carol-Along will be from 6 to 8:30 p.m. Thursday in the McPherson Opera House theater.

The 35th Annual Community Christmas Carol-Along will be from 6 to 8:30 p.m. Thursday in the McPherson Opera House theater.
The evening of music includes both instrumental and vocal caroling.
Featured throughout the evening will be local music groups and individual musicians. Pre-program music begins at 5:30 p.m. with the McPherson College Brass Quintet, Kyle Hopkins, director. The program opens at 6 p.m. with the McPherson Youth Pipes and Drum, Lonny Liljegren, director; followed by the McPherson Community Brass Choir, Jerry Toews, director.
Vocal caroling and sing-along begins at 6:30 p.m. and  features  McPherson College Singers, Dr. Josh Norris, director; Canton United Methodist Church Children’s Choir, Treva Prieb, director, Noleen Binder, accompanist; McPherson College Woodwind Ensemble, Kyle Hopkins, director; Jeff Foster and Dick Nichols, piano duet;  Central Christian College Concert Choir, Tiffiney Harms, director, Brett Janssen, accompanist.
Song leaders are Amy Allmon, Sheila Billings, Kathy Neufeld Dunn, Laura Hale, assistant director, Cindy Sutton, Mary Lynn Smith, Michael Dunn, Don Hale, Joe Hirsch, Rich Miller, Tom Stapleton, John Steers, Rick Sutton, Donna House, director, Joe Johnston, emcee.
The sing-along will be accompanied by pianists Tom Hurst, Jim Pauls, Tiffiney Harms, Brett Janssen, Kaitlyn vanAsselt, assistant; instrumentalists: strings: violins Karen Holman, Michelle Carrillo, Jordan Moll; violas Kc Becker, Ian Ediger; cellos Ashley Gant, Sarah Newberry; double bass Sierra Gant; flutes Julie Holloway, Shawna Unruh.
The caroling party is an open, come-and-go style family sing-along for the McPherson Community. You may come for a little or stay for the whole program. Anyone is welcome to attend.  Santa is expected to stop by for a few minutes. It is a free community event.
The Carol-Along was started by members of the McPherson Music Club and was formerly conducted in the lobby of  Home State Bank. It has continued through the years through the sponsorship of Home State Bank and Trust and the cooperation and support of many individuals, former McPherson Music Club members, and various musicians and music groups in the community.  This event is a gift to the community from musicians in the community.
Helpers during the evening are Sheryl White, Chris Kaufman, Veryl Leach, Jon Leach, Kathy Heidebrecht, Carolyn Mathis, Travis Hale, Katherine Geist, Anna Lindholm, Ashley Plenert, Maren Hansen, Laura Wurm, Jonathan Rogers, Andrew Zeitlow, Paige Regnier, Tyler Crown, Mikayla Brewer, Payton Shook, Abby Pedersen, Hannah Willems, Dylan Stos, Quinn Ruxlow, Anna Ruxlow, Jordan Bandy, Jana Bandy, Lois Lasater, Home State Bank personnel: Ted Odle, Joe Harkins, Tina Woolley, Fred Bohnenblust, Tiffani Eilrich, Carol Cheesman, Mikki Cody, Cindy Christiansen, Cathe Peters, Sheryl White. Flyer design is by Cindy House. Santa's visit sponsored by Quinn Ruxlow.
For more information, contact Donna House, program planner, coordinator and director at 241-5654 or 242-6090 or Sheryl White, Home State Bank coordinator.