TOPEKA—Vivien Olsen, an attorney in Mayetta, was appointed to a three-year term on the Access to Justice Committee, and five other members were reappointed to serve another three years.

Chief Justice Lawton R. Nuss of the Kansas Supreme Court appointed the six people to terms that began July 1 and end June 30, 2020.

Reappointed were:

Stephine Bowman, Topeka, of the Kansas Coalition Against Sexual and Domestic Violence

Jennifer Foster, McPherson, administrator of the McPherson County District Court

Patricia Scalia, Topeka, of the Board of Indigents’ Defense Services

District Judge Erica Schoenig, Olathe, Johnson County District Court

Amanda Truan, Hays, administrator of the Ellis County District Court.

The Access to Justice Committee makes recommendations to the Supreme Court about issues such as increasing the resources available for legal services for low-income litigants in civil cases; improving planning and coordination of legal services delivery; and reducing potential barriers to equal access to justice.

Olsen succeeds Tom Weishaar, Leavenworth, chief court services officer of the Leavenworth County District Court, whose term expired.

Other members of the committee are:

Melanie Branham, Overland Park, attorney

Chief Judge Joe Dickinson, Newton, Harvey County District Court

Chief Judge Van Hampton, Dodge City, Ford County District Court

Marilyn Harp, Topeka, Kansas Legal Services

District Magistrate Judge James R. Kepple, Ness City, Ness County District Court

District Judge Bill L. Klapper, Kansas City, Kan., Wyandotte County District Court

Cindy MacDonald, Abilene, clerk of the Dickinson County District Court

District Magistrate Judge Starla Borg Nelson, Belleville, Republic County District Court

Eric Rosenblad, Pittsburg, Kansas Legal Services

Chief Judge Nicholas St. Peter, Winfield, Cowley County District Court

John Steelman, Ottawa, administrator of the Franklin County District Court

Chief Judge A.J. Wachter, Pittsburg, Crawford County District Court.