The Evaline Hess Health Education and Scholarship Trust has awarded 25 scholarships to local students who are pursuing education in the health care industry. Each year, a local trustee board selects from a pool of both new applicants and previous candidates and recipients. The trustees share control of the trust with the McPherson Hospital Board of Trustees and the McPherson Hospital Volunteers in McPherson.

George and Evaline Hess had an interest in advancing health education. The original trust has been awarding scholarships since 1980. At the time the scholarship was created, Evaline said “George and I know what it is like to struggle and work hard. We know also that real wealth comes only with good health and knowledge. George and I care about people and when one cares, one shares, doesn’t one?”

The Hess’s generosity has been helping generations of students achieve their educational goals. To date, well over 300 scholarships have been awarded since 1980

There are three major categories in which the trust provides financial awards for recipients: initial entry into health care, career advancement in health care, or update of technical training.

The recipients are as follows:

Magan Alexander

Alisa Becker

McKenzie Becker

Makenzie Benson

Michelle Carrillo

Sydney Donaldson

Kaylee Eberhardt

Emma Ellet

Gracy Feil

Ashley Gant

Shelby Gudenkauf

Olivia Hansen

Trey Hett

Allison Ivers

Sarah Kroeker

Doralynn Mellinger

Raquel Otero

Elizabeth Schrag

Kyle Stucky

Sydney Wedel

Tyler Wheat

Brittanee White

Anna Young

Andrew Zeitlow