What was supposed to be a rebuilding year turned into much more for the McPherson High School soccer team.

After graduating a talented senior class, the Bullpups responded with five players being selected to the Class 4A Boys All State Teams, including first-team selections Darrius Armstrong and Devin Cape.

Both seniors were leaders for a McPherson team that finished third in state with a 15-6-0 record. Armstrong was one of seven forwards throughout 4A to be named to the first team, while Cape was one of six defensemen named to the first team.

Even with the departure of Armstrong and Cape, the Bullpups are still loaded for next season. Three sophomores were named to the All State second team: midfielders Britton Haigh and Drew Schrader, along with defenseman Trenton Stecklein. McPherson graduates six seniors while returning seven sophomore starters for next season.

Bishop Miege, Andover Central, Tonganoxie, and Trinity Academy led the way in 4A with six All State representatives. McPherson, along with Hays, Louisburg, and Kansas City-Piper tied for second most with five.

Andover Central senior Jackson Lewallen was the Offensive Player of the Year, Bishop Miege senior Alex Rotert was the Defensive Player of the Year, Andover Central junior David Joseph was the Goalkeeper of the Year, and Bishop Miege’s Nate Hulpe was named Coach of the Year.

Contact Gallagher Martin by email at gmartin@mcphersonsentinel.com and follow him on Twitter @GMartinSentinel