It’s not Christmas in McPherson without the Community Christmas Carol-Along.

The 39th Annual Community Christmas Carol-Along will be held from 6 to 8 p.m. on Dec. 7 in the McPherson Opera House, 219 S. Main St. in McPherson. The evening of music includes both instrumental and vocal caroling.

The caroling party is an open, come-and-go, family-friendly sing-along for the McPherson community. Santa is expected to stop by for a few minutes. It is a free event.

The Carol-Along was started by members of the McPherson Music Club and was formerly held in the lobby of Home State Bank. It has continued through the years through the bank sponsorship and the cooperation and support of many individuals, and various musicians and music groups in the community.

Featured throughout the evening will be local music groups and individual musicians. The program opens at 6 p.m. with the McPherson Community Brass Choir, directed by Jerry Toews.

Vocal caroling and sing-along begins at 6:30 p.m. and features the Church of the Brethren Handbells Choir, directed by Kendra Flory; Sodertrsom Elementary School first and second grade choir, directed by Lori Nelson and accompanied by Caren Ebling on piano, Jennifer Ebling on flute and Elise Nelson on violin; Becky Newman singing the "'Twas The Night Before Christmas" poem; the Elyria Christian High School Choir, directed by Amy Tolle and accompanied by Diane Ingram on piano; and McKenna O'Brien with a vocal solo.

Song leaders are Anastasia Billings, Sheila Billings, Kathy Neufeld Dunn, Eunice Kenney, Becky Newman, Chery Pauls, Mary Lynn Smith, Don Hale, Leighton Kaloupek, and Aaron Stucky. Laura Hale is the director, Donna House is the program music director and Joe Johnston is the emcee.

The sing-along will be accompanied by pianists Brett Janssen, Louise Kearney, Marie Wheaton and Alyssa Harger; as well as Karen Holman on violin and Julie Holloway on flute.

Area managers are Tiffani Eilrich, Chris Kaufman, Dana Johnson and Travis Hale. Hostesses are Carolyn Mathis, Linda Harger, Fran Stucky and Nikki Cody.

Program assistants are McKenna O'Brien, Clare Madden, Emma Kate Stein, Carter Thul and Colin Grieb. Number helpers are Reanna Eilrich and Alex Romero. Song book helpers are Zak Ayella, Ava Madden, Nathan Stecklein and Zack Stein.

Elevator helpers are Ayda Pressnall and Joe Harkins. Special help will be provided by Doug Evans. Opera house technician is Jordan Bandy. Tammy Gipson is handling costumes.

Greeters and those in handling refreshments are Brad Bengston, Katy Aichele, Joe Harkins, Fay Hoppes, Dylan Obermueller, Carol Cheesman, Laura Peters and Amy Rush.