Lt. Governor Troy Findley and Kansas Department of Commerce Secretary Bill Thornton helped announce the winners of the Main Street Awards of Excellence tonight at the annual Kansas Downtown Symposium at Memorial Hall in Hutchinson.
The Symposium, which began Wednesday and ends tonight, is sponsored by the Department’s Kansas Main Street program and provides community developers and business leaders a chance to network, attend workshops and discuss downtown development in Kansas. The annual event typically draws nearly 200 business and community leaders interested in downtown development, including city and county officials, entrepreneurs and small-business owners, as well as Main Street directors, board members and volunteers. This year, the Symposium helped celebrate the 25th anniversary of the Main Street program.
“It’s an honor to recognize these outstanding community development leaders and volunteers,” Lt. Governor Findley said. “Tonight’s award winners represent the best of Kansas and our commitment to preserving and revitalizing our historic downtown districts. This year’s Symposium and awards ceremony was especially exciting in light of this being the 25th anniversary of the Kansas Main Street program.”
The Kansas Main Street program helps community volunteers revitalize their city’s historic business district. The program tackles the complex issues of revitalization, capitalizing on downtown’s history and identifying the resources of the community itself. The Kansas program started in 1985 and provides management training, consultation visits, program evaluation, design assistance, business enhancement strategies, incentive dollars and training for board and committee members and program directors. Kansas Main Street is a self-help program. Staff provides technical assistance, but the responsibility and credit for success rests with the community leaders who offer time, expertise and enthusiasm to revitalizing downtown.
For details, contact Joe Monaco, Public Information Officer with the Kansas Department of Commerce, at (785) 296-3760 or
Main Street Awards of Excellence Winners are as follows:
Kansas Main Street Community Award
Augusta – Bill Keefer
Belleville – City of Belleville
Chanute – Jim & Martha Cornish
Coffeyville – Carla LeLaCheur
El Dorado – David Wernli
Emporia – Deborah Huth
Garden City – Regan & Co. Real Estate, Michael & Chris Regan
Hoisington – Patty Horton
Hutchinson – Greg Binns
Independence – Jim Dittmer
Leavenworth – Jeannie Hazels
Marysville – The Advocate – Kessinger Family
McPherson – Gary & Debbie Reiman
Peabody – Frank & Janice Woodruff
Phillipsburg – Nex-Tech
Seneca – Nemaha Valley High School
Wamego – Karla Rosell
Winfield – Kammi Root
Excellence in Fundraising
Coffeyville – Organization Committee - Running with the Daltons
Hoisington – Christmas Tree Gala and Auction
Peabody – Benefit Auction
Winfield – Organization Committee – Gala Event 10 Years of Excellence
Excellence in Volunteer Development
El Dorado – Design Committee
McPherson – Promotion Committee
Excellence in Public/Private Partnership
Chanute – City of Chanute, Main Street Chanute, Chamber of Commerce
Coffeyville – Downtown Coffeyville, Inc. - Awning Removal
Marysville – Pony Express Anniversary
Sterling – Main Street Sterling - Studio 96
Excellence in Business Development
Emporia – Business Enhancement Committee - Student Surveys
Leavenworth – Economic Restructuring Committee
Peabody – Economic Restructuring Committee – High Speed Internet
Phillipsburg – Phillipsburg Main Street, Phillips County Economic Development Destination Bootcamp
Excellence in Downtown Marketing
Belleville – Belleville Main Street Downtown Directional Signage
Coffeyville – Promotion Committee Events Table Tents
Emporia – City of Emporia, Emporia Main Street Water Main Project
Hutchinson – Amy Jo Wintz, KWCH TV
Leavenworth – Organization Committee – Logo/Graphic & Social Media
Excellence in Promotion
Coffeyville – Promotion Committee - Funfest
Emporia – Dirty Kanza
Hutchinson – Promotion Committee - Taste It Downtown
Leavenworth – Promotion Committee - Follow the Yellow Brick Road
Marysville – Haunted Downtown Ghost Tour
Excellence in Business Promotion
Emporia – Promotion Committee - Quarter Mania
Peabody – Holiday Shopping Spree
Phillipsburg – Promotion Committee - Girls Night Out
Excellence in Architectural Design
Emporia – High Gear – Matt & Stephanie Brown
Hoisington – Façade Improvement – Selma Webb
Hutchinson – Façade Improvement – Smith’s Market, Chris and Gail Barnes
Leavenworth – Building  Renovation – 305 Cherokee, Davis Moulden
Wamego – Façade Restoration – Barbara Torrey
Excellence in Planning & Public Spaces
Augusta – City of Augusta and William Morris Associates
Hutchinson – Cow Creek Restoration – City of Hutchinson
Independence – Design Committee – Walking Tour of Sculptures
Leavenworth – Design Committee – Mosaic Project
Excellence in Historic Preservation
Emporia – Emporia Main Street – State Historic Tax Credits
Hutchinson – Building Restoration – Sports Nuts, Dave Allen
Phillipsburg – Phillips County – Stained Glass Skylight Restoration
Seneca – Seneca Downtown Impact – Walking Tour and Podcast
Kansas Main Street Leadership Award
Christy Davis – Davis Preservation
Kansas Main Street Director Recognition
Casey Woods – Emporia Main Street
Shane Marler – Peabody Main Street
Kansas Main Street Emeritus City
Hoisington Main Street, Inc.
Kansas Main Street New City Proclamation
Dodge City – Main Street Dodge City
Main Street Reinvestment Awards
$1 million – Discover Phillipsburg Main Street
$20 million – McPherson Main Street
$50 million – Emporia Main Street
25 Years in Main Street
Hutchinson – Downtown Hutchinson Revitalization Partnership, Inc.
Independence – Independence