McPherson High’s overwhelming 9-2 football season was rewarded with a heavy representation on the AVCTL Division II team.
MHS’ Tom Young was named Coach of the Year after leading the Bullpups to their fifth D-II title in as many years, sharing the first year and winning it outright each of the last four years. MHS is 24-1 in D-II games and Young is 42-12 in his five years, each resulting in a playoff berth.
MHS’ Tyler Matthews, who threw for 30 TDs and just three interceptions, was named the league’s Offensive MVP, while Andover Central’s Boster Stiverson, a Kansas State commit, was the Defensive MVP.
Matthews was joined on the offensive first team by teammates Kevin O’Connor at running back, Tommy Crayton and Bryan Baerg in the offensive line, Christian Ulsaker at wide receiver and Jordan Hart at the utility back.
Second-team offensive picks were linemen Justin Armstrong and Taylor Krier, receiver Nick Gawanda, tight end Brett Bate, Hart at punter and as the special teams player, and Marcus Houghton at kicker.
The Bullpups had five first-team picks on defense -- linemen Zach Lanning and Seth Davenport, linebacker Heath Collins, and defensive backs Kenan Warren and Jacob Reese. Second-team picks were lineman Andrew Archer, linebacker Logan Williams and defensive back Kelly Blomberg. Dakota Nichols was picked honorable mention for his play at linebacker.
Quarterback -- Tyler Matthews, McPherson. Backs -- Kevin O’Connor, McPherson; Alex Bontz, Andover Central; Dawson Elliott Goddard. Line -- Tommy Crayton and Bryan Baerg, McPherson; Boston Stiverson and Joe Washington, Andover Central; Luke Linder, Andover. Receivers -- Christian Ulsaker, McPherson; Taylor Lock, Andover Central. Tight end -- Zac Tipton, Andover. Utility -- Jordan Hart, McPherson. Punter -- Dylan Wagner, Andover Central. Kicker -- Trey Sapp, Goddard. Special Teams -- Taylor Lock, Andover Central.
Line -- Zach Lanning and Seth Davenport, McPherson; Boston Stiverson, Andover Central; DJ Crager, Valley Center; Brad Ballard, Goddard. Linebackers -- Heath Collins, McPherson; Josh Miller, Andover Central; Caleb Windholz, Andover. Secondary -- Kenan Warren and Jacob Reese, McPherson; Taylor Lock, Andover Central; Keegan Murphy, Arkansas City.