The National Weather Service (NWS) has issued a tornado watch for McPherson County until 11 p.m. Tuesday. Also included in the watch are Barton, Chase, Ellsworth, Lincoln, Marion, Rice, Russell and Saline Counties.

"A deep upper level trough over the Great Basin will continue to progress eastward and move out into the central plains today. This trough will encounter unusally high amounts of instability and wind shear across the region with explosive thunderstorm development expected," stated the NWS is a news release Tuesday. "The atmosphere will be ripe for a potential severe weather outbreak to occur across Central, South Central, and Southeast Kansas for this afternoon and evening.  Supercell thunderstorms will develop along the dryline later this afternoon across Central and South Central Kansas then move northeast over the area."

Residents are advised to pay close attention to all watches and warnings.