LAWRENCE — The Kansas Juvenile Officer’s Association hosted its annual awards banquet on July 28 at the Double Tree by Hilton in Lawrence.

KSJOA issues annual awards for student DARE Essay winners as well as law enforcement officers, administrators, and school administrators who go above and beyond their call of duty in the areas of law related education, school safety, and school security.

This year’s awards recipients were as follows:

This year’s DARE Essay Award went to Taylor Hinderliter. Taylor is going to be a seventh grader at Smokey Valley Middle School. Taylor is the daughter of Tom and Gail Hinderliter of rural Lindsborg. In addition to the award, Taylor was awarded a $100 prize for her dedication to living a drug free life. Taylor was nominated by her DARE Instructor, Captain Doug Anderson from the McPherson County Sheriff’s Office.

This year’s DARE Officer of the Year was Jefferson County Sheriff’s Office Sergeant Dana Boyer.

This year’s School Resource Officer of the Year was Overland Park Police Officer Antoinette Covington.

The award recipient nominations are submitted to and chosen by the KSJOA awards selection committee.

The KSJOA President’s Award is chosen by the KSJOA President. The KSJOA President’s Award is reserved for a KSJOA board member for exceptional service to the KSJOA Board as well as exceptional service to the community they serve.

This year’s President’s Award was given to Valley Center Police Officer Alan Adams. Officer Adams currently serves as KSJOA Interim second Vice President as well as the KSJOA Awards Committee Chairperson.