SALINA — The annual Ice Meet takes place in Salina. McPherson Aqua Pups head coach Kyle Banman likes to think of it as a home meet.

After nearly a month off from competition, the McPherson Aqua Pups dove head first back into competition on Saturday, with no shortage of first place finishes and a few new faces making their Aqua Pups debut.

“This has always been one of my personal favorites to attend as we get a great turnout for it, and it really become a bit like a home meet that we unfortanely don’t have the ability to host during short course season,” Banman said. “This has traditionally been where we have had most of our swimmers make their competition debuts, and this weekend was no exception. Huge congratulations to Rachel Fischer, Bella Monical and Jentry Sears for swimming in their first ever meet.”

A pair of relay teams secured first place.Rhys Vanderhoof, Collin Reiman, Wesley Wurm and Matthew Powers 200 free relay with a time of 1:57.85. The 12-and-under girls 200 medley relay team of Kierstan Trost, Taiya Young, Danica Brunk and Claire Schmidt also stood atop the standings with a time of 2:48.54.

There were no shortage of individual performances worthy of recognition. Wesley Wurm won all three of his competitions: 100 freestyle (1:06.97), 50 fly (38.27) and the 100 backstroke (1:21.45).

Matthew Powers could not be stopped in all four of his races. He took first in the 100 freestyle (58.54), 100 fly (1:07.91), 200 Individual Medley (2:30.02) and the 500 freestyle (6.02:55).

Roary Whorton had a busy, yet successful, day of swimming. He took first in four of his six events, including the 100 freestyle (1:16.56), 100 backstroke (1:33.09), 50 freestyle (34.05) and the 200 free (2:57.97).

Along with helping the girls 200 medley team capture first, Trost captured first in the 50 backstroke and the 100 backstroke, along with three third places finishes in the 50 fly, the 50 free and the 100 free.

Other individual standouts included Bree Pickerell earning her first ever district time on the 100 backstroke (1:45.85). Lexi Smith also earned a district time on her 100 free with a time of 1:15.37. Vanderhoof took first in the 200 Individual Medley and Zoey Whorton won the 100 backstroke.