HAYS – High school students in Colorado will be first in line in 2018 to be recognized for scholarships to Fort Hays State University when the annual series of Student Recognition Programs kicks off at 2 p.m. Jan. 21, at the Renaissance Denver Hotel, 3801 Quebec St.

A highlight at each event is the recognition of students who have already been awarded scholarships to FHSU for the next academic year, but the SRP mission is to recognize all students interested in college – and their friends and families – and provide them with the opportunity to meet faculty and staff from the university. The public is welcome to attend.

Students and families in Kansas, Colorado and Nebraska can sign up now to attend programs in their areas.

High school juniors, seniors and transfer students in Kansas, Nebraska and Colorado have been invited to Student Recognition Programs in their areas. The programs are held in communities across Kansas, in southern Nebraska and in Denver to accommodate area students and their parents or guardians and families.

Students are welcome to attend any SRP program but must RSVP by calling 785-628-5673 or by signing up online through the RSVP link at www.fhsu.edu/admissions/srp/.

Receptions hosted in each locale by the Office of Admissions include dessert or pizza buffets. Students and their friends and families have the opportunity to mingle with FHSU faculty, staff and administrators before and after the scholarship presentations.

Many high school seniors and transfer students will receive certificates for a variety of scholarships awarded to them by FHSU.

Scholarships to be awarded at the SRPs include the $3,500 Presidential Award of Distinction, the $2,000 University Scholar Award, the $1,500 Hays City Scholar Award, and the $1,000 Traditions Scholar Award. All are awarded only to incoming freshmen enrolling in college for the first time, but each is renewable provided students maintain the minimum required academic standing.

A renewable $1,500 scholarship is available for transfer students, and a $1,000 non-renewable transfer scholarship is also available.

Other one-time awards recognized at the SRPs are the $900 or $500 Academic Opportunity Awards, given to scholars by individual academic departments.

Each SRP event also features three scholarship drawings – a $400 FHSU Student Recognition Program Scholarship, a $600 textbook scholarship and another for a laptop computer. Four $400 SRP scholarships are awarded at the reception in Hays.

The SRP events in this area is at 6:30 p.m. Jan. 28, at the Webster Conference Center, 2601 N. Ohio St. in Salina. Pizza will be served. Students from eight counties are invited to Salina: Chase, Clay, Dickinson, Ellsworth, Marion, McPherson, Ottawa and Saline.