The McPherson County Conservation District will hold its 2018 annual meeting at 6:30 p.m. Jan. 22 at the McPherson County 4-H Building. The meeting will open with dinner at 6:30 p.m. followed by the business meeting at 7:15 p.m. The business meeting is open to the public. Featured speaker will be KWCH Chief Meteorologist Ross Janssen.

Four McPherson County producers will be recognized for conservation work and development of wildlife habitat: Lynn Johnson, operator, and Leland and Jane Nelson, owners, all of Lindsborg, for soil conservation; Suzan Fitzsimmons and Chris Anderson, Lindsborg, for windbreak renewal; Derek and Katie Sawyer, McPherson, for water conservation; and Alan and Kathy Neufeld, Moundridge, for wildlife habitat.

For more on each producer, see Page A4.

The McPherson County Conservation District actively supports conservation of land and water, wildlife habitat development and related activities in the county under the direction of an elected board of supervisors. The United States has nearly 3,000 conservation districts working at the local level on conservation issues. Kansas districts are organized along county boundary lines. Conservation districts provide an excellent opportunity for assisting local governments and landowners with all facets of land management through helping landowners develop land management plans and setting local policy. If you are interested in serving as a board supervisor, contact the McPherson Conservation District Office.

For more information, contact the McPherson County Conservation District, 200 S. Centennial, Suite A, McPherson KS 67460, by email at or by phone at 620-241-1836 ext. 3067.