TOPEKA —Winners of the Happy Birthday, Kansas! Student Photo Contest received prizes on Jan. 26 for the celebration of Kansas Day at the Kansas State Capitol. Governor Sam Brownback congratulated students as Marearl Denning, represented the legislative spouses, presented an iPad to first place winners and a Kindle to second place winners.

The contest, now in its fourth year, is presented in conjunction with the Kansas Historical Society.

The statewide contest invited students in first through 12th grade to photograph the state, with prizes awarded to first- and second-place winners in each grade. Photographs from the 24 winners will be on display in the Capitol visitor center through Feb. 3. The winning photos, images from the awards ceremony, and all entries are available online and linked from

These are the winners in the 2017 photo contest:

First grade: Jake Sibley, “Our Beautiful Capitol at Night,” first place, Topeka; Adynn R. Milburn, “Getting Ready for Morton County Fair,” second place, Elkhart

Second grade: Faith McMannis, “Elevator at Sunset,” first place, Canton; Grayson Maxwell, “Cannon at Fort Larned,” second place, Larned

Third grade: Michaela Ferguson, “Dazzling Trees,” first place, Mount Hope; Samuel Rogers, “Still Standing,” second place, Auburn

Fourth grade: Emmie Grimm, “Stood the Test of Time,” first place, Morrill; Kaitlyn Popejoy, “Miners memorial,” second place, Pittsburg

Fifth grade: Josephine B. Denney, “Leavenworth Veterans Day Parade,” first place, Lansing; Katy Prieb, “Fence and One-Room Schoolhouse, second place, Canton

Sixth grade: Trudy Hein, “Harvest Time,” first place, Hillsboro; Regan Hedstrom, “A Day on the Farm,” second place, Cheney

Seventh grade: Jal Maru, “Reclaiming the Past, Framing the Future,” first place, Topeka; Dylan Adkins, “The Old Shawnee Mission Supply Wagon,” second place, Overland Park

Eighth grade: Mikayla Skidmore, “Osborne Courthouse,” first place, Smith Center; Braelynn Cunningham, “Friday Night Lights,” second place, Ashland

Ninth grade: Aiden Moore, “Foggy Main Street,” first place, Canton’ Isaac Richardson, “Railroad Vision,” second place, Topeka

10th grade: Sophie Osborn, “Abandoned,” first place, Chanute; Celey Johnson, “Refinery at Sunset,” second place, McPherson

11th grade: Jillian Ross-Mason, “Sunset Courthouse,” first place, Canton; Terra Saunders, “Lily,” second place, Galva

12th grade: Ashton Faith Imel, “Amber Waves of Grain,” first place, Bucklin; Emma Marvin, “Kansas Sunset,” second place, Wichita