EL DORADO — The McPherson High School swim team won its second straight AVCTL Division II-III-IV championship Saturday in El Dorado.

After edging the competition in last year’s league meet, the Bullpups overwhelmed everyone in their path this year, winning league by 144 points.

Seven first-place finishes ultimately led the Bullpups to a decisive victory.

“That’s quite an accomplishment for these guys,” head coach Matt Morrow said. “Not just the first-place finishes but seven of the eight individual events we scored points from all four McPherson swimmers entered in that event.”

McPherson scored 514 points compared to second-place Maize South’s 370. Andover Central rounded out the top three with 304 points.

The 200 medley relay team of Will Powers, Jori VanGoethem, Justus Hampton, and Dawson VanGoethem finished first with a time of 1:45.20. In the 400 freestyle relay, Jori VanGoethem was replaced with Gavin Soukup but the result was the same with a first place time of 3:26.06.

It was a two-team race in the 200 freestyle, with the McPherson entry of Jori VanGoethem, Silas Steinert, Soukup, and Carson Stone finishing second by .27 seconds; the third place team from Andover Central was nearly five seconds off the McPherson squad.

Individually, Dawson VanGoethem finished first in the 50 freestyle and the 100 freestyle.

Hampton also added two more first-place finishes in the 100 butterfly and 500 freestyle.

Powers impressed as well, winning the 100 backstroke and taking second in the 200 individual medley.

Saturday in El Dorado was another routine day for the Bullpups, who won nine of their 11 meets this season.

The final meet of the season is the state tournament on Friday and Saturday at the Topeka-Capitol Federal Natatorium.

The Bullpups are coming off a 10th place finish last year, but have the potential to top that this year.