The MAC Wrestling Club Lady Wrestlers had a strong performance at the War of the Roses Women’s State Wrestling Tournament on Sunday, held at Central Christian College.

While the majority of the MAC team is also part of the McPherson High School wrestling team, they all had a strong showing with Haley Schafer gaining a first-place championship in her high school division, while Mya Kretzer and Taylor Engel each earned second-place finishes.

Four ladies finished third, with Taryn Norstrom and Sierra Nigh in their high school divisions and Jordyn Hancock and Sarah Hitt in middle school divisions.

Six other MAC wrestlers earned fourth and fifth-place finishes as the tournament had wrestlers from at least four states participating, including Kansas.

The MAC Wrestling Club also had six wrestlers also competing on Sunday in Salina at the Elementary Championships. Elijah Clarke had the highest placing with a first-place championship.

Coming up this Saturday, March 3, MAC wrestlers will be competing in the Park City/Wichita Wrestling Classic to be held at Hartman Arena in Park City.

MAC Wrestlers Individual Results:

1st Place – Haley Schafer, High School Division, 121-133 pounds

2nd Place – Mya Kretzer, High School Division, 118-122 pounds

2nd Place – Taylor Engel, High School Division, 148-162 pounds

3rd Place – Jordyn Hancock, Middle School Division, 109-113 pounds

3rd Place – Sarah Hitt, Middle Shool Division, 147-160 pounds

3rd Place – Taryn Norstrom, High School Division, 134-145pounds

3rd Place – Sierra Nigh, High School Division, 148-162 pounds

4th Place – Jaycee Rausch, Middle School Division, 140-149 pounds

4th Place – Hannah Moore, High School Division, 102-109 lbs.

4th Place – Annah Turner Simon, High School Division, 103-107 pounds

4th Place – Kaleigh Marbut, High School Division, 121-133 pounds

4th Place – Brittani Burgess, High School Division, 135-141 pounds

4th Place – Madison Skytte, High School Division, 174-208 pounds

5th Place – MacKenzie Moore, Middle School Division, 121-125 pounds

Elementary Championships in Salina:

1st Place – Elijah Clarke, Elementary Division, 130 pounds

4th Place – Landon Thompson, Elementary Division, 120 pounds

Also wrestling in Salina was Jase Fitzmorris, while Chandler Cannon, Jaxon Carlson and Jake Evans wrestled in the six-under division.