McPherson High School wrestling head coach Doug Kretzer won coach of the year after a successful 2017-2018 season, with the girls winning their state title and the boys finishing in the top ten.

Members of both the girls and boys teams received All-AVCTL Division III honors on Monday.  

Landon Crews at 113 p,  Rhett Edmonson (120), Scott Radke (152) and Mason Thrash (170) were named to the AVCTL Division III All-League first team.  Edmonson was the only Bullpup to leave the state tournament in first place. Radke finished second in the 152-pound class after coming up short to Montez Robinson of Arkansas City High School.

Brynton Crews at 138, Luke Thompson at 182, Bailey Yarborough at 195 and Wayne Hitt Jr. at 285  made the second team. Mya Kretzer at 106, Jonah Clarke at145 and Kourtney Craig at 220 earned honorable mention. Mya Kretzer finished first in her weight class during the girls state tournament.

Contact Peter Holland Jr. by email at or follow him on Twitter @Petes_Picks_