The McPherson High School girls wrestling team won first place in the second annual Kansas High School Girls Wrestling Championship.

Sixteen girls competed in the Roundhouse against 57 other schools and took first place with 133 team points.

Three McPherson wrestlers finished in fourth place in their weight class. Haley Schafer came in second after falling short to Morgan Mayginnes of Onaga High School by decision in 138-pound weight class.  In the 182-pound weight class, Madison Skytte finished in the third place with 15 team points.

 “From a team stand point, I was really impressed by the way our girls wrestled. They wanted to show up at home and put on a good performance,” head coach Doug Kretzer said.

 Mya Kretzer finished in first place in the 113-pound weight class after beating Anayaka Besco of Rose Hill High School. She finished the tournament undefeated at 5-0.

 “She’s really good on her feet as a neutral level wrestler," Doug Kretzer said. "She steps on her feet and wrestles are year round. She’s a competitor with an attitude of that just expected to win. She’s looking for a war and wants to battle no matter who she’s wrestling. She’s just always ready to get after it."

With momentum on her side, Mya Kretzer is looking forward to competing at regionals in the boys wrestling tournament on Feb. 17.

 “It went pretty well for me, putting people away really fast. I wasn’t expecting anything less. This tournament, I knew it was going to breeze by. I came here and I knew I was going to win it, but I’m actually ready for regionals,” Mya Kretzer said.

Wrestling has increasingly doubled on the girls side to the point that it is now the newest trend in the state.

“A lot of things are changing on the front. It's something girls should be doing. There’s about over 240 girls wrestling in the state. That numbers up from 112, so it doubled from last year. We hoping to double it again next year, that will be 500 girls wrestling,” Doug Kretzer said.


Team scores

McPherson 133, Fort Scott 74, KC Turner 58, Burlingame 55, Spring Hill 55, Great Bend 50, Wichita Southeast 45, Douglass 42.5, Topeka High 42.5, Garden City 38, Campus 36, Fredonia 35, Osawatomie 34.5, Hutchinson 31, Junction City 26, Topeka West 26, Nickerson 25.5, Rose Hill 25.5, Andover Central 25, Clearwater 24, Concordia 24, Marysville 24, Wichita North 24, Mulvane 23, Labette County 22, Anderson County 20, Onaga 20, Ottawa 20, SM West 20, Wellington 20, SM Northwest 19, Eureka 18, Independence 18, Buhler 17, Emporia 15.5, Canton-Galva 15, Ell-Saline 14, KC Sumner 14, Abilene 13, Burlington 13, Mission Valley 13, Wichita South 13, Jefferson West 12, WaKeeney 10, Caney Valley 9, Atchison Riverbend 7, Eisenhower 7, Leavenworth 7, Osage City 7, Rock Creek 7, Humboldt 5, Erie 2, KC Harmon 2.

Individual results

106 — 1. Newcomb, Osawtomie pinned Cokeley, Douglass, 3:24. 106A — 1. Leiszler, Concordia; 2. Graham, Fort Scott. 106B — 1. Pantoja, Topeka West; 2. Garcia-Perez, SM West. 113 — 1. Kretzer, McPherson dec. Besco, Rose Hill, 4-0. 113A — Chronister, KC Turner pinned Lopez, Mulvane, 5:27. 120 — 1. Johnson, KC Turner; 2. Tschohl, Andover Central. 120A — 1. Meier, Topeka High; 2. Bolton, Emporia. 126 — 1. McNeil, Campus; 2. Kennington, Ottawa. 132 — 1. Culbert, Burlingame; 2. Rodriguez, Wellington. 138 — Mayginnes, Onaga dec. Schafer, McPherson, 5-0. 138A — 1. Shaffer, Burlingame; 2. Jennings, Ell-Saline. 145 — Gonsalves, Clearwater pinned Curry, Hutchinson, 4:40. 152 — 1. Claibourn, Fredonia pinned Roth, Spring Hill, 0:58. 160 — 1. Miller, Anderson County; 2. Bernal, Campus. 170 — 1. Robinson, Junction City; 2. Roof, Fort Scott. 182 — 1. Bradford, Wichita Southeast; 2. Lazenby, Spring Hill. 220 — 1. Pinkerton, Caney Valley; 2. Alatorre, Topeka High.

Contact Peter Holland Jr. by email at or follow him on Twitter @Petes_Picks_