Five girls from the McPherson High School volleyball team received all-league honors from the AVCTL Division III. Bullpups' top senior Jaycee Burghart was named Most Valuable Player.

Burghart also made first team all-league to go along with her MVP honor, but she's not alone. Junior Cassie Cooks and freshman Rhian Swanson also earned first team honors. Fortunately for head coach Christy Doile, Cooks and Swanson will be returning for next season.

Senior Michaela Bowers was the only Bullpup to receive second-team honors, and Kallie Jost, also a senior, made honorable mention.

Each of the five played a role into McPherson's winning season as they went 10-0 in their league matches. The Bullpups made it far to Class 5A Sub-State Finals, where they lost to Newton High School in three sets, 25-19, 25-21. 25-20. The Bullpups finished the year at 30-11.

Shelly Nibarger of Circle High School and Kathy Russell of Buhler High School were named Co-Coach of the Year.

First Team

Jaycee Burghart, McPherson

Cassie Cooks, McPherson

Rhian Swanson, McPherson

Faith Kretzer, Buhler

Jessie Nibarger, Circle

Carley Clennan, El Dorado

Shelby Reeder, Circle

Second Team

Michaela Bowers, McPherson

Jadyn Jackson, Augusta

Maddie Livingston, Augusta

Michaela Seahorn, Winfield

Leah Bentley, Buhler

Mallory Cowman, Circle

Honorable Mention

Kallie Jost, McPherson

Maggie McLean, Buhler

Kenzie Kirk, Augusta

Ali Tate, Winfield

Kayli Duncan, Circle

Jaci Bogner, Augusta

Addie Devine, Circle

Jamison McCaig, El Dorado

Emmah Sultz, Winfield

Contact Peter Holland Jr. by email at or follow him on Twitter @Petes_Picks_orour sports page @MacCountySports