Seely named Kansas’ 2021 City Clerk

Special to The Sentinel

Tamra K. Seely, CMC, City Clerk, McPherson has been selected as the recipient of the 2021 Mildred Vance City Clerk/Finance Officer of the Year award for the State of Kansas.

The award was announced at the 71st annual Kansas City Clerks and Municipal Finance Officers Association Spring Conference on Friday, March 19.

Tamra was appointed as the City Clerk/Human Resources Officer for the City of McPherson in September 2009.

Tamra graduated the CCMFOA Certification Institute and has earned the Certified Municipal Clerk’s designation, as well as earned the Society for Human Resource Management Certified Profession designation.

Tamra has made the following contributions to her profession:

  • CCMFOA Board of Directors
  • CCMFOA Region 4 Co-Chair
  • CCMFOA Education Committee
  • Serves on Executive Board of the Kansas Eastern Regional Insurance Trust (KERIT)
  • Member of SHRM and IPMA-HR
  • Serves as chairperson the McPherson City Wellness Committee

This award is presented each year to a City Clerk or Finance Officer who has made significant contributions to the State association, the profession, and their city.

The award was named in honor of Mildred Vance, former auditor and City Clerk/Municipal Finance Officer of Parsons, who served her community from 1948 to 1988.

To be eligible for the award, nominees must: (1) be a current Kansas city clerk or finance officer who has held the position for at least 3 years; (2) be a current member of CCMFOA and have been a member for at least 3 years; and (3) have attained the status of Certified Municipal Clerk or have received the GFOA Certificate of Achievement in Financial Reporting.

Nominations may be submitted by fellow city clerks, mayors, council members, city managers/administrators, or fellow employees.

A five-member panel of judges reviews all nominations and rates candidates on a point system.

The Selection Committee consists of two prior year recipients of the award, the Missouri Clerk/Finance Officer Association President, the Illinois Clerk Association President, and League of Kansas Municipalities representative as assigned by the Executive Director of the League